1980s Trilogy (First edition)

Paul Graham

£190.00 GBP

Don’t miss your chance to own the full MACK first edition set of Paul Graham’s masterful trilogy documenting life in the UK during 1980s, which established him as a vital voice in contemporary photography and continues to influence photographers and bookmakers today. Includes: A1 - The Great North Road (2020), Beyond Caring (2021), and the forthcoming final book, Troubled Land (April 2022).


A1 - The Great North Road (£100)

‘Social documentary in new colours, with sublime light effects, Vermeer-like precision and a submerged sense of loss’ London Review of Books

Paul Graham’s debut photobook travels the length of the A1 motorway from London to Edinburgh, capturing a transitory landscape of work and leisure.

Beyond Caring (£45)

'An empathetic document of a sudden, lurching change in Britain, which left many without a sense of purpose or economic security ... the vision of Britain in Beyond Caring seems as relevant as everThe Independent

Beyond Caring depicts the waiting rooms and corridors of unemployment offices around the UK, documenting the dehumanising realities of 1980s Britain.

Troubled Land (£45)

‘One of my favourite books on the Northern Irish Troubles, not least because it came at them sideways – highlighting the strange, normalised reality of a place that was anything but normal.’ Sean O’Hagan, The Guardian

A new edition of Paul Graham’s classic documentary project depicting Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles through the small but insistent signs of division embedded in its landscape.


Subject to availability - while stocks last.

Free UK shipping on orders over £50

Free international shipping on orders over £100

Return within 14 working days days for a refund. View full FAQs

Have a question? Call us on +44 (0) 20 7442 2190 or email us at support@mackbooks.co.uk